You can help too Help

Ilona, 43

I used to find it most difficult to find people who would support you and understand you in any situation. But actually, the most difficult thing is to stop taking drugs. But I have managed to do that. I have been clean for 2 years and 7 months.

Ilona from St. Petersburg went to university and started volunteering at a hospital when she was over 40. As for the previous ten years, she spent them adrift, abandoned by her friends and family.

Her story, which she had shared for the first time, was written down by a reporter from the Social Information Agency.

— I was born and raised in St. Petersburg. I am 43. I have no good memories of my childhood, it was rather difficult. I was born into a family of professors. Since a very young age I’ve had a very manifested allergy on my face, so children avoided. Even my mum was embarrassed because of me. She worked at the Academy of Science but I wasn’t allowed to go visit her at work so that I don’t make her feel awkward with the way I looked: my face was covered with a crust. I was constantly under pressure at home, I took loads of extra classes and was part of many clubs. In the end I rebelled and joined my peers on the street.

Many years passed, I had been married, yet I still couldn’t find a way to get on with my mum. She remarried herself and gave birth to my younger brother. My step-father took my brother and went to the US. My mum died in 1999 and left all her property to my brother. My step-father came from the US and sold all the flats, including the last one when I was living at the time. In 2007 real estate agents forced me to move out.

I got married again, mostly out of despair, because I simply had nowhere to live.

I also found it very scary that someone who had raised me, was able to kick me out onto the street so easily. The second husband betrayed me. He cheated on me and we separated.

Five years later I fell seriously ill. I was transferred from a hospital in Gatchina [a town near St. Petersburg] to St. Petersburg where I was expected to die but I managed to survive thanks to my aunt. She had given me shelter after my husbands affair. I was so ill that I couldn’t find the strength to sort out my relationship with my husband. I just wanted to lie down and die. In order to survive I had to drink my own bile for three months. When I was living at my aunt’s I started taking valocordin and generally anything that could make me lose the sense of reality. I was in pain. My aunt couldn’t take it in the end and made me leave.

Then I broke my arm and had about ten operations on my right arm. I had an Ilizarov apparatus [a type of external fixation used in orthopedic surgery to lengthen or reshape limb bones] installed. I spent almost three years on the street, occasionally living in one municipal night shelter or another. I was expelled from them for drinking and taking substances.

I was once raped on a supermarket’s premises and then thrown out. They also took my papers. I went to a state-run night shelter but they didn’t accept me because I had no papers.

It was then that I went to Nochlezhka. When I arrived, my clothes were all frayed and torn, I was wearing the fixture on my right arm. I was barely aware of what was happening around me. I had started avoiding people because of all the violence I’d been exposed to on the streets.

When at Nochlezhka, I was immediately seen to by social workers. They found me a place, fed me and gave me some clothes. The found the right pain-killers and constantly changed the dressing on my arm, thus saving it. Two weeks later I had my new ID and thanks to the social workers of the municipal addiction centre I was taken to the city’s narcological hospital for a rehab programme. I was so scared and was in such a pain and despair that I hadn’t been able to give up taking substances. I was getting crazier each day.

Just before I was to leave for the hospital, a nurse was changing my dressing at Nochlezhka. I told her that I wanted to find a job and she said I should start thinking about my soul and not about work. She said this was the best I could do in my state. I was stunned and frightened by these words, they sounded like a verdict.

I am now studying at St. Petersburg State Institute of Psychology and Social work. I think thats the best I can do, considering my experience.

I have loads of experience when it comes to resolving social issues and I would really like to share it. Experience combined with knowledge is what is needed to effectively help people who have found themselves in a difficult situation.

VK_Saved_Photo_-636575363912496903.jpg

A photo from the woman’s personal archive

I also volunteer for the City’s Narcological Hospital. This is a way to thank the hospital for the new life I received thanks to the people who work in the 12 steps of NA programme there. The hospital staff cared for me and shared their unique experience with me, they taught me to remain pure and develop spiritually. I have seen people who have been taking drugs and alcohol for years reintegrate into society. They go to uni, start families and, what’s most important, they share their experience of development with other people, who are still suffering from drugs. I would love to have an actual job at this hospital, then I would have more opportunities to help people. Unfortunately, there are no job openings for now.

VK_Saved_Photo_-636575363043532782.jpg

A photo from the woman’s personal archive

I used to find it most difficult to find people who would support you and understand you in any situation. But actually, the most difficult thing is to stop taking drugs. But I have managed to do that. I have been clean for 2 years and 7 months.

I am a happy person. Today, my life is an enchanting adventure. The one thing I miss for now is a computer. It’s difficult to study without one. I have to go to libraries and they all close at 8 while I sometimes finish at 9. And, of course, I’d love to travel. I’ve never been to Moscow and I’ve always wanted to see the Mausoleum.


VK_Saved_Photo_-636575363663613387.jpg

 

4 months

An average period of time spent by a homeless person at the shelter

47 160 руб

Average cost of bringing a homeless person to stable life

Help the shelter

Другие истории бывших подопечных приюта

Вы тоже можете помочь Помочь
Илона, 43

Илона, 43

Раньше для меня было самым трудным найти людей, которые поддержат тебя в любой ситуации и поймут. А вообще самое тяжелое — перестать употреблять вещества. Но мне это удалось – я ничего не употребляю уже два года и семь месяцев.

Илона из Петербурга поступила в вуз и стала больничным волонтером, когда ей было уже за сорок. А десять лет до этого она скиталась, брошенная близкими людьми.

Историю, которую она рассказывает впервые, записал корреспондент Агентства социальной информации.

— Я родилась и выросла в Санкт-Петербурге, мне 43 года. Хороших воспоминаний из детства у меня нет – оно было сложным. Я родилась в профессорской семье. С детства у меня был очень сильный диатез, я была изгоем в школе и на улице. Даже моя мама стеснялась меня. Она работала в Академии наук, но мне запрещалось приходить к ней на работу, чтобы не позорить своим внешним видом: мое лицо было покрыто корками. Дома был постоянный прессинг, я посещала кучу специализированных школ и кружков. В итоге я забастовала и ушла к сверстникам на улицу.

Прошло много лет, я успела побывать замужем. С мамой общего языка так и не нашла. Она сама во второй раз вышла замуж, у меня родился младший брат. Мой отчим, взяв брата, уехал в Америку. Мама умерла в 1999 году, оставив все квартиры в наследство моему брату. Приехал отчим и продал все квартиры, а последнюю квартиру — вместе со мной. В 2007 году риелторы вынудили меня выписаться из квартиры.

От безысходности я вышла замуж во второй раз — только потому, что мне негде было жить.

А еще было очень страшно, что человек, который меня растил, так легко выкинул меня на улицу. Но второй муж обманул — изменил мне, и мы разошлись.

Через пять лет я сильно заболела. Из Гатчинской больницы меня отправили умирать в Питер, но я смогла выжить благодаря своей тете. Она приютила меня после измены второго мужа. Я так болела, что не было ни желания, ни возможности выяснять отношения с мужем. Хотелось просто лечь и умереть. Чтобы выжить, мне пришлось три месяца пить собственную желчь. Живя у тети, я начала употреблять валокордин, да и вообще все, что могло затуманить разум. Было очень больно и плохо. Терпение тети через какое-то время кончилось, и она выгнала меня на улицу.

Там я сломала руку и перенесла около десяти операций на правой руке. Врачи поставили аппарат Илизарова. На улице я прожила почти три года, периодически попадая в разные ночлежки города. Оттуда меня выгоняли за употребление алкоголя и препаратов, меняющих сознание.

Однажды меня изнасиловали на территории гипермаркета и выкинули на помойку, отобрав все документы. Я обратилась в государственную ночлежку, но меня не взяли, потому что не было документов.

И тогда я обратилась за помощью в благотворительную организацию «Ночлежка». Когда я туда приехала, на мне была рваная одежда, на правой руке — аппарат Илизарова.  Я уже с трудом понимала, что происходит вокруг. Из-за насилия, которое со мной происходило на улице, я шарахалась от людей.

В «Ночлежке» меня сразу приняли социальные работники. Поселили в комнате, накормили и дали одежду. Нашли необходимые обезболивающие и постоянно делали мне перевязки, чем и спасли мою правую руку. Через две недели мне сделали паспорт, и при помощи социальных работников городского пункта учета я отправилась на лечение в Городскую наркологическую больницу (ГНБ). От страха, боли и безысходности мне было не остановиться в употреблении веществ. С каждым днем я становилась все безумнее.

Перед отправкой в больницу меня перевязывала медсестра в «Ночлежке». Я рассказывала ей о своих планах найти работу, на что она посоветовала мне задуматься о душе, а не о работе. Она сказала, что в моем состоянии это будет лучшее, что я могу сделать. Меня очень напугали эти слова — они прозвучали как приговор.

Сейчас я учусь в Санкт-Петербургском государственном институте психологии и социальной работы. Я думаю, что с моим жизненным опытом речи о другом образовании быть не может.

У меня есть огромный опыт в решении социальных проблем, и я очень хочу им делиться. Опыт, подкрепленный знаниями, — это то, что необходимо для результативной помощи людям, попавшим в трудную жизненную ситуацию.


Фото из личного архива героини материала

Еще я тружусь как волонтер в ГНБ — это благодарность больнице за новую жизнь, которую я получила благодаря людям, которые там работают, и программе «12 шагов анонимных наркоманов». Сотрудники больницы подарили мне заботу и свой уникальный опыт, научили оставаться чистой и духовно развиваться. На моих глазах люди, годами употреблявшие наркотики и алкоголь, становятся полноценными членами общества. Они поступают в институты, создают семьи и, самое главное, — передают свой опыт роста другим людям, которые пока еще страдают от наркотиков. Сейчас я мечтаю работать в ГНБ официально – так у меня будет больше возможностей помогать людям. К сожалению, ставок пока нет.


Фото из личного архива героини материала

Раньше для меня было самым трудным найти людей, которые поддержат тебя в любой ситуации и поймут. А вообще самое тяжелое — перестать употреблять вещества. Но мне это удалось – я ничего не употребляю уже два года и семь месяцев.

Я счастливый человек. Сегодня моя жизнь — это завораживающее приключение. Но для полного счастья мне не хватает компьютера: без него тяжело учиться, разъезжая по библиотекам. Они все работают до восьми вечера, а я освобождаюсь иногда в девять. И, конечно, мне не хватает путешествий. Я никогда не была в Москве — с детства хочу побывать в Мавзолее.


Фото из личного архива героини материала

4,5 месяца

средний срок проживания подопечных

45 459 руб

средние расходы на то, чтобы вернуть одного человека к обычной жизни

Помочь приюту

Другие истории бывших подопечных приюта